NEW!
Try the next level of privacy protection with ID Theft Guard & StopAd. Learn more
How to Wipe MacBook Pro without Losing Data
Privacy

How to Wipe MacBook Pro without Losing Data

Why Reset a Mac Before Giving it Away

When you reset your Mac, everything on it will be erased. Personal docs. Photos. Movies. If you need to keep important files, remember to copy them manually to another physical drive or upload them to the cloud. To make things easy, we recommend using Time Machine. Baked into macOS, Time Machine creates a full copy of your system. When you’re up and running on your new Mac, you can restore everything in a snap.

How to Prepare Your Mac for Backing Up

Time Machine is a built-in macOS utility, so you won’t need to download any additional software. All you need is an external drive. Keep in mind that Time Machine backs up your entire system, so we recommend deleting unnecessary files first. You can easily remove all clutter at once using MacKeeper. When you do, you’ll use less disk space and your Mac will take less time to back up.

How to Back Up Your Mac with Time Machine

  • Type “Time Machine” in the Spotlight search or go to Finder > Applications and open Time Machine from there.
  • When Time Machine opens, click Select Backup Disk.
  • Select the disk where you‘d like to store your backup and click Use Disk.

If you want your backup to use less space, click Options. Then click the plus (+) sign to add files and folders you want to exclude from the backup. When you’re done, hit Save.

  • After selecting the backup disk, click Back Up Automatically. This way Time Machine will create backups automatically on a regular basis.

You’re good to go. That’s all you need to do to back up your Mac. Keep in mind that Time Machine gives you the option to restore both your entire system and separate files from the backup.

 

The very first backup can take some time as it will be backing up your entire system. Keep calm and don’t interrupt the process. Let Time Machine finish the full backup of your Mac. Once you have it, you can easily restore your system to your new Mac.

 

After your backup is finished, you can proceed to resetting your Mac to factory settings. Keep checking our blog for an upcoming step-by-step guide on how to reset your Mac to factory settings and wipe all your personal info from it.

More Related Articles

arrow

Run Application

Double-Click on MacKeeper.pkg

Click Continue