How to clear Chrome history manually
Mac Tips

How to clear Chrome history manually

But if you regularly use Chrome, you might notice slowdowns and freezing over time. Before you drop Google Chrome for something else, clear your browser history. You’ll be surprised how much it helps.

Just like all major browsers, Chrome comes with a built-in tool for deleting the places you’ve been on the internet and scrubbing sensitive files, including cache and cookies. After you click the History tab at the top Chrome menu bar, select the Show Full History option. In the new window that opens, select Clear browsing data from the left-side menu.

You’ll then be presented with a new window that features the following settings:

  • Browsing history – a list of pages you’ve visited since your last history cleanup

  • Download history – a list of files downloaded via Google Chrome

  • Cached images and files – temporarily stored files that help load websites faster

  • Cookies and other site data – files storing your previous activity on the website so it can be retrieved next time you visit this website

  • Passwords – any authentication details including logins and usernames

  • Autofill form data – login forms saved for specific websites

  • Hosted app data – preferences of Chrome extensions and apps

  • Media licenses – licenses for movies or music that you’ve played or downloaded

Check the boxes for the items you want to clear, and then click Clear browsing data. You can also check our latest post for info on why you need to regularly delete browser history and how to do so manually.  

We recommend keeping the default boxes checked or unchecked as in the picture above when deleting your Chrome browsing data. But feel free to check all the boxes if you’re looking to clear your passwords and autofill data for security reasons.

In a recent post, we covered how to delete your browsing history manually in Safari. As you can see, doing so is just as easy for Chrome users.

But there’s one more step you can take to make Chrome run even better — clear your cache. Before you get started, be sure to quit Google Chrome. Otherwise, the app might crash.

When you’re ready, follow these steps to delete your Google Chrome cache manually:

  1. Go to Finder.

  2. Press and hold Command+Shift+G.

  3. Copy this path and paste it into the address line of the new window:

~/Library/Application Support/Google/Chrome/Default/Application Cache/

  1. Open the Cache folder and delete all its contents.

You’re all set with a refreshed Google Chrome. Plus, with all those files now deleted, you can be more confident in the security of your data. And as an added bonus, your browser may run much faster, especially if it’s been a while since you’ve cleared your history.

Using a different browser? Next up in our browser security series, we’ll show you how to delete your browsing history in Firefox. Stay tuned.



*According to the recent W3School study, over 70% of its visitors used Google Chrome

 

More Related Articles

arrow

Run Application

Double-Click on MacKeeper.pkg

Click Continue